Hope, BC – Chainsaw Capital of the World

A week ago I took a mini-vacation to Hope, BC.  It is only about an hour and forty-five minute drive from Mom’s place in Bellingham. That makes it an excellent destination for me.  Years ago, Wayne and I landed at the Hope Airpark to camp after attending the Abbotsford Airshow. This trip was a solo getaway by car.

Hope boasts that it is the Chainsaw Carving Capital of the World.  That must be true. Everywhere around town you’ll find fabulous sculptures.

Here’s a nice video by showing the results of the 2012 Chainsaw Championships.  Looks like the 2013 event has been cancelled. I’m not sure why. — Margy

About drmargy

I live in an off the grid float cabin on Powell Lake in Coastal BC. I also travel frequently to Bellingham, Washington. My work involves grant writing for school districts and editing my husband Wayne's science fiction and Coastal BC Stories books.
This entry was posted in Coastal BC, Travel and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Thank you for commenting. - Margy

